Friday, August 25, 2006

Xena has ousted Pluto

All this while we have learnt that there were nine planets, including Pluto.

But now Pluto has been knocked out and so we have eight planets. They are Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune.

What crime did Pluto commit?

None it appears, but a group of astronmers and scientists have found that under a new set of rules , Pluto cannot be considered a planet. It is demoted to be a dwarf planet, a new category.

It seems Pluto's main problen is Xena , a recently discovered non-stellar object that’s not only bigger than Pluto, but also has a much sexier name.

So if Xena’s not a planet, then the smaller Pluto shouldn’t be either.

I guess Pluto deosn't care one bit about what these brainy folks do.

No comments: